Microtonal, just intonation, electronic music software Microtonal, just intonation, electronic music software

Encyclopedia of Microtonal Music Theory

@ 00 A B C D E F G H I J K L M N O P Q R S T U V W X Y Z
Login   |  Encyclopedia Index


[John Chalmers, Divisions of the Tetrachord]

A Perfect Fifth divided into four subintervals by five tones.

In musical practice, most pentachords consist of a tetrachord with a whole tone added at either the top or bottom.

The addition of Hyperhypate, a tone 9/8 below the tonic to the Chromatic and Enharmonic Dorian modes converts the scale from two disjunct tetrachords separated by a 9/8 in one octave to one consisting of two conjunct pentachords spanning a Major Ninth (9/4).

. . . . . . . . .

The tonalsoft.com website is almost entirely the work of one person: me, Joe Monzo. Please reward me for my knowledge and effort by choosing your preferred level of financial support. Thank you.

support level